top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

How I Lost Weight During Lockdown: Tips From My Nutritionist Friend

This blog is about how I changed my body from Fat to Fit. When covid 19 hit, we all had to stay at home. I was in Kolkata, working on my short film "The Last Walk". We had finished shooting and we were going to edit and dub it. But then we heard that there would be a lockdown for 18 days to stop the virus. We wrapped up our shoot and I booked a sound studio. I thought we would dub in 2-3 days after getting the first edit.




But then I decided to go back to my hometown, which is Dhanbad, only 4 hours away from Kolkata. I thought I would come back after 18 days and finish the dubbing and then fly to Mumbai. But we all know how 18 days turned into 4-5 months of lockdown. I was at home with my parents for the longest time ever. I enjoyed eating my mom's food and relaxing. My dad took care of everything else, like getting groceries and vegetables. I followed Modiji's advice and did nothing. I didn't go out for a month. All I did was eat, watch movies, sleep and repeat.


I was stuck at home for two months and the only then I started yoga on my terrace. I got bored of it and decided to go to the field and run and exercise. I didn't realize I had gained weight because I didn't have a full-length mirror at home, just a small one for my face. And I don't look at my face every day. Nobody told me I was fat until one day at the field, when I tried to do a long jump and I couldn't beat the young boys who were 15 or 16 years old. Vikram said it was because of my weight. That was the first time in my life someone called me fat. I didn't believe him at first, but then I started to pay more attention to myself. He was right.


So I began to work out more seriously to lose weight. I contacted one of my friends who is a nutritionist, Sarita Singh. We worked together on a play in 2017 and we stayed in touch since then. She used to give me free diet advice back then. I asked her if she could help me again and she agreed to do it for free. She was always nice to me. She had her own way of making a diet plan. She said it wasn't just about telling me what to eat, that was too simple. She said she needed to know everything about me: my age, height, daily activities, basically my whole lifestyle. Then she gave me a diet plan that suited me. And she checked on me every day by phone or WhatsApp. She was very serious about her career and her clients. She was not like those gym trainers who just tell you to avoid this or that. She analyzed everything about me and told me what to do. After two months, I lost weight again.


In between, I had to play a trible character's role for a shoot and lose weight fast. She gave me some tips but said they were not healthy for regular use. She helped me go from fat to fit with her diet and exercise plans. She is a great dietician and nutritionist. You can find her on social media if you need her help.

I hope you enjoyed my blog post. Please share it with your friends if you did.

15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page