top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

How I Made the Leap from a Night Shift Job to a Fulfilling Career at MakeMyTrip India

`

Hey, do you want to hear a crazy story? It's about how I landed on job at MakeMyTrip India, one of the best online travel companies in the country. It all started in November 2012, when I was working with CBA Group, Noida. This company was the back office of a warehouse in USA that dealt with apparel. It was a night shift job, and I had been working there for almost three years. I was bored and unhappy, and I wanted a change.




One day, I got a call from Swati Raheja, an HR person from MakeMyTrip. She said she had seen my resume online and wanted to interview me for an MIS Analyst role. I was surprised and excited. I also suggested another candidate, Bhagwan Yadav, who was my friend and colleague. Swati agreed to interview both of us.


The only problem was that the interview was in Gurgaon, which was far from Laxmi Nagar, where I lived. And I had to go there the next day, after working all night. But I decided to go for it anyway. I thought I could manage my sleep for a day.


So the next day, I took metro to Gurgaon and reached the MakeMyTrip office. It was huge and beautiful, and I felt like I had entered a different world. I had never seen such a big and modern company before. I checked in at the reception on the 4th floor, and waited for Swati to come. She greeted me warmly and took me to the interview room.


There, I met Anurag Gaggar, who was the senior manager of flights at that time. He gave me a laptop and some data sets for analysis. He said he wanted to test my spreadsheet skills, which I had mentioned in my resume. I was confident about this, because I had been using MS-Excel for a long time. I completed the task in the given time and showed him the results.


I had a second round of interview with Khushwinder Singh, who was going to be my manager if I got the job. He grilled me on the formulas I used to solve the excel problem in the first round and also on my mindset. He wanted to know why I chose certain formulas over others. He also asked me about my hometown, my education and some personal questions to get to know me better. One question that stuck with me was: What do you want to become in the future? I said that it changed over time. When I was a student, I wanted to be like Bill Gates, start my own company and become a millionaire. But now I have different goals. Another question he asked was: Are you not comfortable speaking English? I was surprised by this question because I was confident in my English skills, even though they were not perfect. I explained that in the first round, I switched to Hindi after a while because I felt more comfortable with Anurag sir, who interviewed me then. I also told him that I came from Dhanbad, which is famous for the movie Gangs of Wasseypur that came out in 2012. He was curious about Wasseypur and asked me if it was true. I told him about the place, how far it was from my home, and how the characters and locations were real. We got sidetracked from the actual interview and had a friendly chat about the movie. I felt slightly confident about my chances of getting hired because of this conversation.



When I was waiting for next round, One of HR was Nishant Ji, who was very polite and asked me tea when I was waiting near the HR bay. Swati, who had the final say on my salary. I asked for a little bit more than what I was earning at CBA, because I really wanted to get out of there. She tried to bargain with me, as HRs usually do. She said she would talk to the management and get back to me. It was a Friday.


A week later, I got the good news. I was selected for the Flight plus Hotel team, as an MIS Analyst. They wanted me to join as soon as possible. But there was a problem. I hadn't told CBA about my new job. I knew they wouldn't let me go easily. So I decided to do something sneaky. I joined MakeMyTrip without telling CBA, and for two days, I worked at both places. Why? Because CBA gave bonuses on Diwali, and I didn't want to miss that. I thought it was fair, since the bonus was based on my performance from last year. After I got my bonus and cashed my cheque, I called Harsh Chadda, my manager at CBA. He was angry at first, because I left without notice. But he understood that it was for my better future. He even asked me if my cheque had cleared. I said yes, and he had nothing to hold me back.


That's how I started working at MakeMyTrip. They gave me everything I wanted: cab services, weekends off, and a better work environment. It was a dream come true for me. Working in night shift for six days a week and managing my own transportation was too much for me. MakeMyTrip made my life easier.


Nishant B. Kumar, Actor

18 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page