top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

Tiruvannamalai, spiritual journey, staying like local

Updated: Oct 4, 2023

I have always been fascinated by the mystical town of Tiruvannamalai, where the sacred mountain Arunachala is said to be the manifestation of Lord Shiva. I decided to embark on a spiritual journey to this place, and experience the culture and traditions of the local people.


Tiruvannamalai Temple
Tiruvannamalai Temple


I booked a homestay near the Ramana Ashram, where I could interact with the hosts and learn more about their way of life. They were very hospitable and friendly, and they invited me to join them for their daily rituals and ceremonies. They also taught me some Tamil words and phrases, which helped me communicate with the other locals.


One of the highlights of my trip was the Girivalam, or the circumambulation of the mountain. It is a 14-kilometer walk around the base of Arunachala, which is believed to grant blessings and remove sins. I joined thousands of devotees who were chanting and singing praises to Lord. On Full moon night of every month approx. 4 Lakh devotees come here for Girivalam.

Writer- Nishant B Kumar, Actor


Girivalam
Girivalam




Comments


bottom of page