top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

A Spiritual Journey to the Tallest Shiva Lingam at Maheswaram Sri Sivaparvathi Temple

I had an amazing experience on 1st Dec, when I visited Maheswaram Sri Sivaparvathi temple (Maheswaram Temple), also known as “DAKSHINA KAILASAM. It all started when I met a fellow kalari practitioner the night before. He was from a different place and had a unique name that I had to repeat several times to remember. He told me about this temple that had the tallest shiva lingam in the world. I was intrigued and decided to go there the next day.




I woke up early and took a bus from Balaramapuram junction. It was 14 km away from my place, so I had to change buses at Udiyankulangara. For the first time in my life, I traveled by bus without wearing any shoes. I was used to walking barefoot in local places, but this was different. I felt more connected to the earth and the people around me.


At Udiyankulangara, I saw a young boy who was hitchhiking. He got a ride on a bike and I thought I should try it too. The bus frequency was low and I didn't want to waste time. I waved my hand at the first bike that passed by and he stopped. He didn't speak much English, but we managed to communicate with gestures and smiles. He followed the signs for the temple and dropped me where he had to turn.


I thanked him and asked another biker for a lift. He agreed and we started talking. He asked me where I was from and what I was doing here. I told him I was from Jharkhand and I was learning kalarippayattu from Shaji master. He said he also learned kalarippayattu for two years and he knew Shaji master. He was very friendly and dropped me at the temple gate.

I had a wonderful experience visiting the temple complex. I was amazed by the beauty and grace of the Shiva Parvathi idols in the main temple. I also paid my respects to the 12 Jyothirlinga that were installed around the main temple. I asked the priest if I could sit there for some meditation. He was kind enough to speak Hindi with me and direct me to the Dhayana Mandapam, a special hall for meditation. But before I went there, I explored another temple where 32 forms of Lord Ganesha were displayed. I felt a strong connection with Lord Ganesha as I observed each idol carefully. They all had different features but also some common elements. I spent at least 20 minutes there, admiring the craftsmanship and devotion. Outside that temple, I saw another priest offering water to a Shiva Linga. I joined him and received his blessings. Then I saw another priest performing arti to another deity. I also participated in the arti and felt blessed.


Then I moved towards the main attraction of the complex, which was the tallest Shiva Linga in the world. I took some pictures of it from outside, but when I tried to enter, a priest told me that the ticket price was Rs. 100/-. I decided not to go inside, thinking that it was too expensive. Later, I regretted my decision, because I learned that inside there were six meditation halls and 108 different Shivalingas and 64 forms of Lord Shiva. Maybe next time, I will go inside and see them for myself. But for now, I was happy to meditate in the Dhayana Mandapam for an hour, as I do in every temple that I visit. After meditating and chanting, I asked a kid to take my picture while meditating.


I had a wonderful time visiting some temples and meeting some Sabri Mala devotees today. They were all wearing black clothes, which is their tradition. I asked them to take a photo of me and also to join me for a group photo. They were very friendly and we chatted a bit about their pilgrimage. I see them everywhere these days, especially in temples.


After that, I enjoyed some tasty idly, Sāmbhar and chutney at a nearby restaurant. It was so good!

Then I hitched a ride with a local guy after talking to him I get to know he too is learning kalari. He told me that there are different styles of kalari in different parts of Kerala, just like the language. He was very passionate about it and asked for my number to send me some information about his style. I gave him my number and returned to my place.


It was a short but amazing trip that made me feel refreshed.

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page