top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

Discovering Kanyakumari and Rameshwaram: My Spontaneous Trip Experience

I had a great time visiting Kanyakumari and Rameshwaram this week. It was a spontaneous trip that I decided to take when my kalari teacher told me he was going to be away for two days for some demonstrations. I had asked him before if I could join him, but he never agreed. So I thought, why not explore some places on my own?



Kanyakumari is only 52 km from Balaramapuram, where I live. It is famous for being the southernmost point of India, where you can see the sunrise and sunset over the ocean. It also has a beautiful temple dedicated to Goddess Kanyakumari, who is associated with Lord Shiva in the Mahapuran. I wanted to see the temple and pay my respects to the goddess.



Rameshwaram is another holy place, where Lord Rama worshipped Lord Shiva before his battle with Ravana. It has one of the 12 Jyotirlingas, which are sacred shrines of Shiva. I had always wanted to visit this place and feel the divine energy.


I left early in the morning, around 5 am, and took a bus to Neyyattinkara railway station. From there, I boarded a train to Nagarcoil, which cost me only Rs. 35/-. I was impressed by how clean and comfortable the general coach was. The train ride was scenic, especially since it was raining. I enjoyed watching the green fields and hills from the window.


Kanyakumari Temple:

I reached Nagarcoil around 8 am and took another bus to Kanyakumari for Rs. 25/-. The bus journey was also pleasant, as I got to see the countryside and the people. I arrived at Kanyakumari at 9 am and headed straight to the temple. I was fasting until then, so I wanted to offer my prayers first. I left my backpack at the cloak room and joined the queue for darshan. It took me about half an hour to get inside the temple and see the idol of the goddess. She looked radiant and powerful with a red saree and a garland of flowers. I felt a surge of devotion and gratitude as I bowed before her.


After darshan, I had a delicious breakfast of poori sabji and tea at a nearby restaurant. I also bought a sunglass for Rs. 50/- from a street vendor who convinced me that they were stylish and trendy. Later I realized that everyone was wearing similar sunglasses, which made me laugh.





Vivekananda Rock Memorial in Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu.

This is a rock island where the great Swami Vivekananda meditated and attained enlightenment in 1892. He was a famous Hindu monk who spread the message of Vedanta and Yoga across India and the world. To go to Vivekanand Rock, you have to take a ferry from the shore. It costs 75 rupees for a round trip and 30 rupees for the entry ticket. It was a bit crowded and noisy, but I didn't mind. I was excited to see the rock memorial and the statue of Thiruvalluvar, a legendary Tamil poet and philosopher who wrote the Thirukkural, a classic work on ethics and morality. The statue is 41 meters tall and stands on another rock island next to Vivekananda Rock.


Unfortunately, the statue was closed for renovation when I visited, so I couldn't go near it. But I could still admire it from a distance. It looked majestic and serene, overlooking the sea. I wondered what wisdom he would have to offer me if I could talk to him.


But I was more interested in Vivekananda Rock Memorial, where Swami Vivekananda spent three days and nights in meditation. He had come here as part of his spiritual journey across South India. He had no money or belongings, but he had a strong desire to reach the rock island. He saw it as a symbol of his quest for truth and liberation. He bravely swam across the sea, despite the danger of sharks and other creatures, and reached the rock safely. There, he sat in deep meditation and experienced a vision of his life's mission. He realized that he had to spread the message of Hinduism to the world and revive the glory of India's culture and spirituality.


The rock memorial was built in 1970 to commemorate his centenary. It has two main structures: the Shripada Mandapam and the Vivekananda Mandapam. The Shripada Mandapam has a shrine with a pair of footprints that are believed to belong to Goddess Parvati, who is worshipped as Kanyakumari here. The Vivekananda Mandapam has a statue of Swami Vivekananda inside a hall with beautiful architecture. There is also a meditation hall where visitors can sit and meditate in silence.


I decided to spend some time in the meditation hall and try to connect with Swami Vivekananda's spirit. I took my meditation mat with me and found a spot to sit. The hall was dimly lit and had om chanting music playing in the background. I closed my eyes and focused on my breathing. I felt a wave of calmness wash over me. I tried to empty my mind of all thoughts and distractions. I felt like I was in another world, a world of peace and bliss.


I meditated like an hour or so. When I opened my eyes, I felt refreshed and energized. I felt like I had gained some insight into myself and my purpose in life. I felt grateful to Swami Vivekananda for inspiring me with his life story and teachings.


I then explored the rest of the rock memorial and enjoyed the views from different angles. The sea was sparkling blue and green, and the waves were crashing against the rocks, creating white foam. The sky was clear and bright, and the breeze was cool and refreshing. It was a beautiful sight to behold.


I took some pictures to capture the memories of this place. Here are some of them for you to see:






Now it’s 1 o’clock. I was feeling hunger. I thought let’s go to land and have some food. To and Fro for the ferry service there will be long queue. I ate idly sambhar full stomach.

After that, I headed to The Wandering Monk, an exhibition on Swami Vivekananda. This place is amazing, guys. It's all about Swami ji's travels and life experiences. The walls are covered with text and pictures, telling his story in detail. I was so fascinated by his journey across India and his views on other religions. He had a strong desire to go to the Himalayas and meditate there, but he faced many obstacles and challenges. His story inspired me a lot and made me think about my own life journey. I spent more than an hour reading everything in the hall. I wanted to sit down and read more comfortably, but the caretaker didn't allow me. I guess that's fair, since it's not a library. I thanked him for his service and left.


Next, I visited the government museum, where I saw many artifacts from ancient times. There were coins, weapons, sculptures, paintings, idols, and more. There were also some rare species of sea and land animals preserved in glass cases. It was like traveling back in time and seeing how people lived and what they valued. I learned a lot about the history and culture of this region.


Then, I went to Mahatma Gandhi Mandapam, where I learned more about the life of the Father of the Nation. There were photographs and captions showing his achievements and struggles. He was such a great leader and a humble person. He fought for freedom and justice with non-violence and truth. His principles and values are still relevant today.


Sunset Point

By then, it was almost sunset time, so I rushed to the sunset point to catch the view. But unfortunately, there were clouds in the sky, so I couldn't see the sun setting over the horizon. It was a bit disappointing, but I didn't let it ruin my mood. I decided to stay there for a while and enjoy the breeze and the sound of the waves.


As I was sitting there, an old couple approached me and asked me about Vivekananda Rock. I told them what I knew about it and how to get there. They told me they were from Kolkata and they were Bengali. I was happy to meet them, because I have some Bengali friends and I love their culture and language. We had a nice chat about our travels and plans. They were surprised by my spontaneous style of traveling. They wished me luck and left.


After they left, I started my riyaz playing tanpura on mobile, singing some songs. Music is my passion and my therapy. I sang till 8 pm, feeling happy and peaceful.


Then, I went to have dinner at a nearby restaurant. I had some rice and curry, which was simple but tasty. After that, I walked to the station, which was only 1.5 km away from where I was. My train to Rameshwaram was at 10:15 pm, so I had some time to spare. At 10:15 train departed towards Ramanathpuram. Ramanathpuram is 40 KM away from Rameshwaram. But good thing about Tamilnadu is their bus connectivity. After get down at Ramanathpuram at 4 AM, I found bus instantly towards Rameshwaram.


Rameshwaram

I arrived at the bus stand around 7 am and took a quick shower at a pay and use bathroom for Rs. 30/-. I put on my white dhoti and kurta, which I always wear when I visit religious places. Then I hopped on a bus to the temple, which was 3 km away. The temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and his consort Parvati, and it's one of the 12 Jyotirlingas in India. It's also where Lord Rama prayed before going to Lanka to rescue Sita.


The temple was crowded with devotees who had come to take a holy dip in the sea and then have darshan of the deities. I skipped the dip and went straight to the queue for Shiva darshan. It took me an hour to reach the sanctum sanctorum, where I saw the majestic lingam adorned with flowers and garlands. Then I had Parvati darshan, which was also very beautiful. I felt blessed and peaceful after seeing them.


I collected my backpack from the cloak room for Rs. 50/- and my shoes from another place. I also bought a Shankh (conch shell) as a souvenir. Then I had some breakfast at a nearby stall.


Dhanushkodi, Ram Setu

Now I was ready to explore Dhanushkodi, the tip of the island where Rama built a bridge of stones across the sea to reach Lanka. It's also called the ghost town because it was destroyed by a cyclone in 1964.




Many auto drivers offered me a round trip to Dhanushkodi for Rs. 200/- but I decided to take the local bus instead. However, the bus took a long time to arrive, almost 2 hours. Finally, I boarded the bus for Rs. 30/- and reached Dhanushkodi after 30 minutes around 11 am.


Dhanushkodi was amazing! It was like being at the end of the world, with the sea on both sides and the sky above. I could see some ruins of houses and temples that were once there. I also saw some fishermen and pilgrims who had come to see the Ram Setu, the bridge of stones that is still visible under water. I spent an hour there, taking pictures and enjoying the scenery.


Then I waited for another 2 hours for the bus to come back. In the meantime, I relaxed by the sea and watched the waves. At 3 pm, I reached the bus stand again and decided to head to Madurai, where my train to Tiruvananthapuram was waiting for me. I had lunch at a nearby restaurant and took a non-AC bus to Madurai for Rs. 150/-. The journey took about 4 hours and I reached Madurai around 7 pm.


Madurai City

I had a crazy adventure in Madurai, a city in Tamil Nadu. I booked a ticket online at 3 AM this morning, hoping to get a confirmed seat, but when I arrived at 7 PM, I was still on the waitlist. I decided to explore the city instead of waiting at the station. I found some nice shops and bought a printed shirt for 300 rupees. I also enjoyed some local food like idli, dosa and omelette.


At 11:25 PM, my train finally arrived, but I had to travel in the general coach because ticket didn’t get confirmation. It was a nightmare! I was so tired, but I couldn't find a comfortable spot to rest my head. I spent the whole night awake and restless. I reached my destination at 7 AM, feeling exhausted.


Despite the challenges, I had an amazing and learning experience in this trip. I got to see a new place, meet new people and try new things. I think it was worth it!




Comments


bottom of page