top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

How I Enjoyed Keraleeyam Festival Watching Classic Malayalam Movies Without Subtitles

I was so excited to learn Kalarippayattu, the ancient martial art of Kerala, from Shaji Sir, who is a master with over 30 years of experience. I arrived in Thiruvananthapuram on November 2nd, after spending two days in Puducherry. I checked my WhatsApp and saw that Sarath, a friend from SRFTI who is studying Editing, was also in town. We had met last year in Kolkata and had kept in touch. He told me he was here for the Keraleeyam Festival, 2023, a cultural event that showcases the rich heritage of Kerala. He said they were screening old classic Malayalam movies in theaters for free! I was intrigued by this, as I love Malayalam cinema and have watched many films online with subtitles. But I knew I would be busy with my Kalarippayattu classes, which were held in Balaramapuram, 15 km away from the city. I wondered if I would have the energy and time to attend the festival.





One day, I decided to give it a try. I finished my class and took a bus to Thiruvananthapuram. Sarath had told me about a film called "Bhargaveenilayam," which had been digitized by the National Film Archives. It was playing at the Kairali Nila Shree theatre. I reached there 10 minutes late and found that the theatre was full. I begged the volunteers to let me in, saying that I would stand in any corner and watch the film. They saw how passionate I was and agreed to let me in. One of them even gave up his seat on the stairs for me. I was so grateful and happy.


The film started and I realized that there were no subtitles. I panicked a little, but then decided to focus on the visuals and the sounds. I tried to understand the story from the expressions of the actors, the tone of their voice, and the background music. I remembered what a director from Mumbai had told me once: that cinema is a visual medium and a good director can convey the story mostly through images, not just words. I realized he was right. As I watched the film intently, I understood 90% of it. The only thing that confused me was some of the cultural references that were specific to Kerala. . Sarath explained to me what they meant after the movie, and I appreciated his insights. I enjoyed the film immensely and felt like I had learned something new.


The second movie "Vaishali" was a historical epic based on Mahabharata, one of the ancient Indian epics. It was about a princess named Vaishali who falls in love with a young sage, but their love is doomed by fate and politics. The movie had stunning visuals and costumes, and the actors were brilliant. It was like watching a live painting on the screen. Sarath sat next to me and gave me some commentary on the plot and the characters, so I could follow along better. The movie was very emotional and tragic, and I felt sad for the lovers who couldn't be together. My friend Krishananjali, who is also from Kerala, told me later that she was depressed after watching this movie when she was young. She said that the actors got married in real life, though, which made me happy.


I had a great time watching these Malayalam movies in the theater without subtitles. It was a challenge, but also a rewarding experience. I learned a lot about their culture and history, and I enjoyed their art and creativity. I think Malayalam cinema is one of the best in India, and maybe even in the world. I hope you liked reading this blog post, and please let me know what you think in the comments. And don't forget to share it with your friends if you liked it! 😊

59 views1 comment

1 Comment


Vaibhav Pal
Vaibhav Pal
Nov 19, 2023

Beautifully written bro! I can see how raw and vulnerable expression you have put up in this piece of article. Happy to read about your screening experience :)

Like
bottom of page