top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

My Experience Learning Silambam from a Master in Tiruvannamalai




I have always been fascinated by martial arts and physical activities that are good for health and art as well. As an actor, these art forms are very useful for body flexibility and agility. So when one of my friends from Hyderabad told me about Sravanan sir, who teaches silambam in Tiruvannamalai, I was very curious to know more. He shared his number with me and I called him to arrange a meeting.



Silambam is a traditional Indian martial art that uses a long bamboo staff as a weapon. It is said to have originated in Tamil Nadu and has a history of over 3000 years. It is also known for its graceful movements and acrobatic skills.


Sravanan sir's house is about 600-700 meters from the Raja Gopuram side of the Arunachaleshwar temple, which is one of the largest temples in India dedicated to Lord Shiva. I had some difficulty finding his place, but he came to receive me from Pogul theatre. He took me to his terrace, where he runs his silambam class.


There were about 20 kids, ranging from 5 to 12 years old, learning this ancient art form from him. He introduced me to them and asked them to show me a demo. For the next 30 minutes, I was amazed by their performances. They displayed various skills with the stick, such as spinning, striking, blocking, and dodging. They also used other weapons, such as deer horns, knives, and swords. They performed solo, duo, and group routines with precision and coordination. They looked confident, agile, and graceful.




I was very impressed by their talent and dedication. I also appreciated the parents who supported them to learn their cultural art forms. That way, they keep alive their ancient Indian culture and also reap the benefits of this martial art for their body and mind.


After the demo, I talked to each one of them and praised their efforts. I also had a conversation with their parents and thanked them for their hospitality. I took blessings from Sravanan sir and expressed my gratitude for his time and guidance.


I came back to my room with a lot of admiration and inspiration. I had a bus booked at night for Bangalore, where I had a shoot for a feature film. But I decided to keep in touch with Sravanan sir and learn more about silambam whenever I get a chance. It was an unforgettable experience for me.


Nishant B. Kumar



Nishant B. Kumar
My Experience Learning Silambam from a Master in Tiruvannamalai

Comentários


bottom of page