top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

Supportive Managers at MakeMyTrip India Helped Me Transition from Temporary to Permanent Employee

My journey with MakeMyTrip has been an amazing one. I joined them as a temporary employee for 3 months, working on a third party payroll. This meant that I was not a permanent part of the MMT family, but I still got to work on their projects. I was tired of working night shifts and doing the same boring tasks every day, so I decided to take this opportunity as a challenge. I wanted to improve my personality and skills by working with MMT, because they have some of the best talents from IIT, IIM and other prestigious institutes. I thought that being in such an environment would help me grow and learn new things.




But it was not easy at first. I felt like a fish out of water, because most of the employees spoke in English and had a different work culture. They were very professional, confident, knowledgeable and relaxed. I had to learn a lot from them and adapt to their style. My manager, Khushwinder Singh, trained me on how to create daily, weekly and monthly dashboards for our online product, Flight Plus Hotel. He also taught me how to provide data and analysis for any requests from my team. I worked hard on my job and gradually developed my personality for higher roles.


My experience at MMT was incredible. I had a great manager who helped me improve my English skills by speaking to me in that language. I knew that my contract was only for three months, so I was also preparing for other opportunities in case they didn't hire me permanently. I learned how to use Advance Excel and practiced my English with my colleagues. Sometimes I felt discouraged when they switched to Hindi, but I didn't give up on my goal. I also improved my analytical skills as part of my role.


After three months, they extended my contract for another three months based on their needs and my performance. I was happy to stay, but I also had a new manager. Her name was Roospi Jindal, and she was an IBS alumni. She was very supportive and encouraged me to learn new things. She also helped me with my resume and suggested some places where I could apply if MMT didn't confirm me as a permanent employee. That's when I found out that my boss's boss was A1 (Abhishek Aggrawal), an IIT Delhi alumni. He was the director of the online product team, and our team was one of the teams he handled. I was still worried about losing my job because I was the only breadwinner in my family. Roopsi tried to help me, but nothing worked out.


I got another three months extension, but by then I was also feeling frustrated. The other employees who were on MMT payroll had job security and many other benefits. Meanwhile, my passion for acting started growing. It had always been there, but I had suppressed it because of the situation I was in. And I didn't have any training, contacts or knowledge about acting. Just passion. But because of the fear of losing my job, I didn't take any action towards acting.


I have been working at MMT for 8 months now and I'm tired of this job. I want to go to Mumbai and follow my dream of becoming an actor. I told Roopsi, that I'm quitting MMT. In the corporate world, they don't care about you until you want to leave. Then they suddenly act like they value you. That's what happened to me. My boss A1 called me to his office. He never talked to me before, only said hello sometimes. He asked me why I wanted to quit. I told him the truth, that I have a passion for acting and I want to move to Mumbai to pursue it. He said, "You were talking about getting a permanent job here, and now you say you want to go to Mumbai." I said, I thought if I got a permanent job here, I could join an acting institute and get some training before going to Mumbai. But it seems like I have to go directly to Mumbai. He said, they were working on making me a permanent employee here, but it was taking time. He said, if I still wanted to go, he could help me find a job in Mumbai. He called the Mumbai office right in front of me. But they only had retail jobs there, not analyst jobs. I was touched by his gesture. It may not seem like a big deal to you, but for me it was very emotional. Someone like A1 was helping me chase my dream. He said, "You should always try to fulfill your dreams, otherwise they will haunt you later."


I felt happy again and worked hard for the next 3 months as a temporary employee. After completing 1 year at MMT, I finally got a permanent job offer.

29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page