top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

The Shree Padmanabhaswamy Temple in Thiruvananthpuram

4th Dec, 2023

I had a wonderful experience today visiting the Shree Padmanabhaswamy Temple in Thiruvananthpuram, which is only 15 km away from where I live. I woke up early at 6 am and took a bus to the city. I arrived around 7 am and then I took an auto rickshaw to the temple, which was about 1.3 km from the bus stand. The auto driver tried to persuade me to go to the Aazhimala Shiva Temple instead, where there is a famous statue of Shiva. He said he would charge me Rs. 800 for a round trip and that the next darshan at the Padmanabhaswamy Temple would start only at 8:30 am. But I stuck to my plan and decided to visit the Padmanabhaswamy Temple first.


This temple is very special and has a rich history behind it. It was in the news recently because of the enormous amount of wealth that was discovered in its vaults, estimated to be around 1 lakh crore, which is more than any other temple in the world. You can read more about this temple online or watch this YouTube video that I found.





The temple has a strict dress code and etiquette that you have to follow. Men have to wear dhoti and go shirtless, while women have to wear saree. You are also not allowed to carry anything other than your wallet inside the temple. I left my phone, bag and kurta in a cloak room outside and only took my wallet with me. There are some shops nearby that sell or rent dhoti and saree if you don't have them.

Inside complex, there were 2 more options for dharshan then free, one is 500/- and other is 50/-. There queue will shorter and they can go little closer than free queue. Next darshan time is 8:30 AM. I chose the free darshanam option, which meant I had to wait for an hour in a long queue. But I didn't mind, because I got to admire the amazing architecture and art of the temple. It was built with carved stones in a combination of Kerala and Tamil styles. The artists who made it must have been very skilled and patient. I can't imagine how they did it without any modern tools or machines.




When I finally got to see Lord Vishnu, I felt a surge of bliss and grace. He seemed to bless me with his hand on my head. It was a brief moment, but very powerful. Then I went to the Krishna temple, which was also inside the complex. I prayed to Krishna and then decided to meditate in a mandapam nearby. There were some people already meditating there, and soon some ladies joined and started chanting vedic mantras. The atmosphere was so serene and uplifting. I felt a deep connection with the divine.


I spent an hour meditating there, and then I explored the other parts of the temple complex. There was also a Ganpathy temple inside. I thanked all the gods for this opportunity and left the temple feeling refreshed and happy.

I collected my belongings from cloak room and went to eat my breakfast. I just had medu vada and chai. I remember that auto wala who showed me that shiva idol. Now I change my plan to going back to room. I went to visit Azhimala Temple near sea side. I asked some locals to where to get bus and started waiting. Here people are very helpful. After some time one person come and take me to show that bus which one going towards Azhimala temple. I got up on bus found seat. Travelling by bus in kerala is treat to eyes. Both sides trees and good roads. I enjoyed the journey towards Azhimala temple. Around 800 meters walk from bus stand.

I reached the Azhimala temple. Main temple is closed but the main attraction of this temple is Lord Shiva statue. I bought ticket of Rs. 20/- to enter. Took some photo graph near shiva statue and enjoying watching sea from there and left because there were no shades to hide head from sun’s direct rays. Azhimala temple is actually near to my place where I am staying. I came directly to my place catching taker vehicle.

This is so refreshing and energizing. I hope you have enjoyed my journey.

Thanks for reading!


Nishant B. Kumar, Actor

Comments


bottom of page