top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

Unleashing the Wild Fun: My First Office Outing at Jim Corbett National Park with Makemytrip

Updated: Nov 30, 2023

I had a great time at the MakeMyTrip annual outing in Dec, 2013. Our team decided to go to Jim Corbett national park, a beautiful place with wildlife and nature. We booked a resort for 3 days and left at night by bus from our office. I was a bit nervous because I didn't know many people in the bus, except for the guy who sits next to me in the office. He was from a different team and we were not very close. Roopsi was also there, but we barely talked. I hoped to make some new friends on this trip.




Luckily, I met Pankaj Kumar and Vinit Garg, who were both managers in different teams. They were very friendly and we sat together on the bus. The journey was scary because of the dense fog. We could hardly see anything outside the window. Pankaj was worried that we might get into an accident and suggested that we should stop somewhere until the fog cleared. But the bus driver kept going and we had no choice but to trust him.


Meanwhile, some people in the bus started playing Antakshari. It sounded like fun, but I was too shy to join them. I just listened quietly and enjoyed their singing. Pankaj also didn't participate, he was just listening like me. He seemed like a nice person.


We arrived at the resort in the morning and got our rooms. I was paired up with Aman Bansal from the tech team. He seemed like a chill dude. Pankaj and Vinit were roommates too. The resort was amazing, especially in the winter. The morning sun felt so warm and soothing. We explored the surroundings and found a river behind the resort. We had fun splashing in the water. Then we had breakfast. I always get nervous at places like this because I don't know what to eat or how to eat it. You know what I mean? I felt insecure and shy and all kinds of things. But Pankaj Kumar and Vinit Garg helped me out with choosing food from the buffet. We had a great breakfast.

The resort had a lot of things to see. There was another guy named Ankur Malhotra who joined us. He was also friendly, but a bit quiet. He seemed to know a lot about traveling though. We found a spot where they filmed Splitsvilla. The set was still there, or at least it was when we were there. We sat there and enjoyed the scenery and the vibe. We chatted for a while, but I mostly listened and nodded along. It was still a safe place for me.


After Lunch, I had a great time at the zip lining adventure with my friends. It was not like the usual zip lines where you just glide from one end to the other. This one was horizontal, so you had to use your arms to pull yourself across. There was a girl who got stuck in the middle and started screaming. The staff had to use a rope to pull her to the other side. I was scared too, but I decided to face my fear and give it a try. I was surprised by how much fun it was once I got over the initial fear. I made it to the other side without any problem. We only had one chance to do it, so I'm glad I didn't miss it.


In the evening, we had a bonfire and played dumb charades. I'm usually shy, but I tried to participate more this time. I don't remember what words I got, but I remember that everyone laughed at my attempts. It was a good way to relax and bond with everyone. Then we went to bed.


The next day, we took cabs to the Jim Corbett National Park. We had to switch to jeeps once we got there. I rented a binocular for Rs. 100/- so that I could see tigers or other animals from afar. We followed the tracks of leopards and tigers. The guide showed us some footprints and said that a tiger was just here. I don't know if he was telling the truth or just trying to make us excited. But we did see some deer and other animals along the way. At one point, they stopped the jeeps and said that a leopard might show up. We waited for 20 minutes, but nothing happened. Oh well, it was still a fun ride. We also stopped and took some nice photos in the park. Then we went back to our resort.


At night we had DJ and Drinks( we have to pay to it), I drunk out of limit and danced like a dog. I was so drunk that night I even lose my temper on some of tech senior. Although he was not manager but senior to me. We had little heated conversation. After leaving girl, Every boy put down theire pant not underwear and dance on Pakistani song “Sutta na mila”. After returning to my room. I took hot water shower for an hour because I was drunk that much.

Next day morning, Everyone asked me “all Well?” I was shocked. I started asking pankaj, I have done something very much last night? Why everyone asking “All Well?”. Now our trip over we have to come back. Buses were ready for us. So we got up and took our seats. In this trip, I made a friend who remain my friend till now. It’s been 10 years.

That trip was my first trip with office and such luxurious one. I enjoyed a lot and changed too.


Nishant B. Kumar, Actor



8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page