top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNishant B Kumar

Why Hyderabad stole my heart: A love letter to the city



Hyderabad was my first choice when I decided to explore south India. I thought I would stay there for a month and then move on to other places. But fate had other plans for me. I ended up staying in Hyderabad for eight months and I don't regret it at all. Here are some of the factors that made me fall in love with this city.


First of all, I found a great hostel and awesome roommates. This is not easy when you are living in a hostel, because you can't choose who you share your room with. I was lucky to have two Telugu guys who were very friendly and fun. One of them was an IT professional and the other one was a stuntman in the Telugu film industry. They were both very different, but we got along well. They respected my privacy and also invited me to join them for some activities.




Secondly, I discovered Krishna Kanth Park, which was just 1 km away from my hostel. This park was a paradise for me, as I am a morning person who likes to exercise and meditate. The park was huge, with 22 acres of greenery, flowers, herbs and birds. It was so peaceful and beautiful that I felt like I was in a different world. I spent at least 5 hours every day in this park, enjoying the nature and the fresh air. In Krishna Kanth Park, I experience of learning action - reaction (a type of fight choreography used in South Indian movies) from Madhu Master. He is an amazing teacher who challenged me to push my body limit more than ever. He was one of the main reasons why I stayed in Hyderabad for eight months instead of one. I learned gymnastics, martial arts, stick fight, and fight sequences. I learned how to beat multiple opponents in a realistic and graceful way, just like you see in South Indian movies. The only thing missing in the video below is the sound and visual effects, but the craft is there. He is one of the best masters I have ever learned from.




One of the highlights of my stay in this place was the temple of Pochchamma Tali, which was very close to where I lived. I am a devout Hindu and I love to visit temples and worship the gods. Every morning and evening, I went to the temple to chant, meditate, and participate in the Aarti. It was a peaceful and serene place to connect with the divine. I spent about an hour every day at the temple, which was a great way to use my time in the evening. Instead of wasting time on idle talk or gossip with friends, which I don't enjoy much, I preferred to immerse myself in the spiritual atmosphere of the temple. I also learned some beautiful Sanskrit hymns, such as "Aighri Nandini", "Hanuman Chalisa", "Shiv Tandav Strotam" and so on. I found that reciting Sanskrit was not only a devotional act, but also a good vocal exercise. As an actor, I need to keep my voice in good shape, and Sanskrit is a perfect language for that.




Hyderabad has been very kind to me in every way. I love this city. Recently, I got a dubbing project as a lead from Hyderabad. When I came here, it felt like home. I used to feel the same way about Delhi and Mumbai.


These are some of the factors that held me in Hyderabad for eight months. I had a wonderful time there and I learned a lot about the culture, the food and the people of this city. Hyderabad will always have a special place in my heart. Hyderabad is like a home to me now.


27 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page